Skip to content

Royan Institute

  Home arrow News arrow Royan News arrow The International and National Winners of Royan 12th International Research Award
The International and National Winners of Royan 12th International Research Award PDF Print E-mail

The International and National Winners of the 12th International Research Award in Reproductive Biomedicine and Stem Cell Biology and Technology are introduced.

Dr Hamid Gourabi, Award Chairman and Royan Institute President, announced that more than 280 papers had been submitted to Award secretariat from 41 countries, including USA(46 papers), Iran(34 papers), India(23 papers), Japan(18 papers), China(17 papers), Italy(16 papers) and UK(9 papers). He mentioned that the research papers are evaluated through an intense jury procedure by 170 Award’s national and international referees.

The Jury Board considered Dr Paul Thomas from Australia as the winner of REPRODUCTIVE GENETICS submitting the paper entitled Identification of SOX3 as an XX male sex reversal gene inmice and humans, Dr Hiromitsu Nakauchi from Japan as the winner of STEM CELL BIOLOGY & TECHNOLOGY submitting the paper entitled Heterogeneity and Hierarchy within The Most Primitive Hematopoietic Stem Cell Compartment, Dr Elizabeth Stewart from USA as the winner of FEMALE INFERTILITY & REPRODUCTIVE IMAGING submitting the paper entitled Safely Extending Focused Ultrasound Surgery for Uterine Leiomyomas to Women Who Desire Future Pregnancies, Dr Steve Tardif from UK as the winner of EMBRYOLOGY submitting the paper entitled Infertility with Impaired Zona Pellucida Adhesion of Spermatozoa from Mice Lacking TauCstF-64, Dr Lorenzo Piemonti from Italy as the winner of REGENERATIVE MEDICINE submitting the paper entitled Bone marrow as ideal microenvironment for human islet transplantation to treat type 1 diabetes ( Identifier: NCT01345227), and Dr Heping Zhang from USA as the winner of EPIDEMIOLOGY & ETHICS submitting the paper entitled Decision Trees for Identifying Predictors of Treatment Effectiveness in Clinical Trials and Its Application to Ovulation in a Study of Women with Polycystic Ovary Syndrome.

Dr Gourabi also introduced 3 national winners: Dr Morteza S. Hosseini submitting the paper Developemnt of an optimized zona-free method of somatic cell nuclear transfer in the goat, Dr Zhaleh Zolghadri submitting the paper entitled Relationship between abnormal glucose tolerance test and history of previous recurrent miscarriages, and beneficial effect of metformin in these patients: a prospective clinical study, and Dr Batool Rashidi submitting paper entitled Simvastatin Effects on Androgens, Inflammatory Mediators, and Endogenous Pituitary Gonadotropins Among Patients with PCOS Undergoing IVF: results from a prospective randomized placebo-controlled clinical trial.

Dr gourabi remarked that in some groups no one has been introduced as a winner due to the astringent process of nomination. He also added that the winners of 12th International Research Award along with the 2nd Kazemi Prize would be appreciated and awarded on September 8th, 2011.

Main Menu