Skip to content

Royan Institute

  Home arrow News arrow Royan News arrow Kazemi Prize 2016 Was Awarded to Professor Johannes Carolus (Hans) Clevers
Kazemi Prize 2016 Was Awarded to Professor Johannes Carolus (Hans) Clevers PDF Print E-mail
The 4th Kazemi Prize went to Professor Johannes Carolus (Hans) Clevers on Royan Research Award Ceremony which was held on August 31st, 2016 in Razi Conference Center from 11:00 to 13:00. He is a geneticist, physician, medical researcher who was the first to identify stem cells in the intestine and is one of the world’s leading researchers on normal stem cells and their potential for regenerative therapy.
professor clevers

To summarize his scientific highlights, Hans Clevers identified the crucial downstream component of the Wnt signaling cascade, TCF, and the mechanism by which Wnt signals activate specific TCF target genes. He was the first to link Wnt signaling with adult stem cell biology, when he showed that TCF4 gene disruption leads to the abolition of crypt stem cell compartments of the gut. Clevers’s team worked on the intestine and on the physiology of the intestine, which was essentially an unstudied field as well.
Clevers has been recognized on a number of occasions for his research; he was elected as an EMBO member in 1999 and also elected as a Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences member in 2000 and won the Catharijne-prize for medical science. He received the Spinoza Prize (Netherlands) from the European Society for Clinical Investigation in 2001 and the Louis-Jeantet Prize for Medicine (Switzerland) in 2004 and he was also named Chevalier of the Légiond’honneur (France). In 2005 he got the Science and Society Prize from Memorial Sloan-Kettering Katharine Berkan Judd Award (U.S.). He had Josephine Nefkens Prize for Cancer Research from Erasmus MC Rotterdam (Netherlands) and Meyenburg Cancer Research Award (Germany) in 2008.He received the Dutch Cancer Society Award in 2009,the United European Gastroenterology Federation (UEGF) Research Prize in 2010, and the Ernst Jung Prize for Medicine from the Jung Foundation for Science and Research (Germany) in 2011. Léopold Griffuel Prize from Association pour la Recherchesur le Cancer (France), Kolff Prize, Knight of the Order of the Netherlands Lion (Netherlands), William Beaumont Prize of the American Gastroenterology Association and Dr A.H. Heineken Prize for Medicine (Netherlands) went to him in 2012 and the Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences in 2013.In 2014 he received Massachusetts General Hospital Award in Cancer Research, had the TEFAF Oncology Chair, became a fellow of the AACR Academy and got Struyvenberg European Society for Clinical Investigation (ESCI) medal. In 2015 he received ISSCR-McEwen Award for Innovation and the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences Professor Prize in 2016.

Main Menu